Glory

Praise be to God.  All glory and honor to Him.

This morning I read a story on Townhall.com that dealt with the issue of humility with Olympic athletes.  While I greatly enjoyed watching the athletic competition, and the success of all of the athletes who medaled.  I believe, as the author did, that humility was short-changed.  There is celebrating an achievement and enjoying the moment, and there is self-glorification.

Celebrating another gold medal or showboating?

My wife often comments on this during NFL games where a player will get up after a single play and showboat as if they have won the game single-handedly.  I have seen this across our culture as well with many trumpeting their own successes and accomplishments more so now than ever before.

Who do we think we are?  Do we think we are anything special, deserving glory and honor before other men?

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves. Philippians 2:3

You will never glory in God till first of all God has killed your glorying in yourself. – Charles H. Spurgeon

Before a downfall the heart is haughty,
    but humility comes before honor.Proverbs 18:12

Showing off is the fool’s idea of glory. – Bruce Lee

Now, there were a fair share of athletes who praised God for their victories, and for that I rejoice as they used their accomplishment to focus the light of Christ on the world if only for a passing moment on the world’s largest stage.

May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.Galatians 6:14

Is the failure on the athletes themselves?  Surely they share some responsibility in reveling in their own insignificant accomplishments.  Is the failure on the exultation of the crowd?  The praise of the mob?  Are we not as much to blame for the athlete’s failure to show proper humility in acknowledging and praising God in victory or defeat?

Many people have praised or admonished Tim Tebow for his outspokenness about his faith.  However you fall on Tim, I believe most people would encourage their children to look at how he plays football and the humility he shows at all times.  This man glorifies God with every snap, pass, run, touchdown, interception, and sack.  His heart is with God at all times, and so everything he does on the field is for God whether good or bad.

Praying mid-game

I look at it as a relationship that I have with him that I want to give him the honor and glory anytime I have the opportunity. And then right after I give him the honor and glory, I always try to give my teammates the honor and glory. And that’s how it works because Christ comes first in my life, and then my family, and then my teammates. – Tim Tebow.

Humility is not an easy thing to master.  It is a challenge to be humble in the face of what seems like an exceptional accomplishment, whether that is a gold medal at the Olympics, a promotion at work, the achievement of one of your lifetime goals, or in the face of honor brought by others.  For that reason, this has been a difficult entry for me to write, for I am badly in need of grace and mercy.

I am a prideful person, and it holds me back daily, but despite that if you were to ask me who gave me the legs to run, the arms to throw and catch, the eyesight to see the target, and the mental and physical fortitude to compete, I would not hesitate to give all of the glory to God.  I might enjoy the contest and the victory, but not as much as the opportunity to use my accomplishment as a brilliant beacon for Christ, if only for a fleeting moment.

Direct the glory to Him, not me.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

LadyRaven's Whisky In A Jar - OH!

Coffee? Tea? Whisky! - Aspirin anyone?

Stately McDaniel Manor

Culture, Politics, Firearms, Education, Literature, Philosophy, Music, And Other Musings

High Heels and Handguns

This princess is armed- The prince can't always be there to rescue you

Sheeple: People unable to think for themselves

Here to help educate the Sheeple before the slaughter

Fellowship of the Minds

"In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act."

Reality Check

American Patriot's Reality Check

The Firewall

Whenever any form of government becomes destructive of these ends it is the right of the people to alter or abolish it

Freedom Is Just Another Word...

Rules?? What Are rules? I don't need no stinking rules!!!

Evil of indifference

"Now, we must all fear evil men. But there is another kind of evil which we must fear most, and that is the indifference of good men. " from Boondock Saints

The Radio Patriot

Because I have so many words...

Eatgrueldog

Where misinformation stops and you are force fed the truth III

Reality Of Christ

Christian, End Time, and Conspiracy News!

DAYLIGHT DISINFECTANT

DAN SANDINI'S NEWS OUTSIDE THE MAINSTREAM

The Liberty Zone

A blog about guns, politics, freedom, entertainment, and generally anything and everything else, written by a well-armed veteran with an extensive vocabulary, the ability to make up inventive invective, a bad attitude and a high IQ

WR2A: The Line In The Sand

We Are the Second Amendment, and you cannot stop that.

The Longwood Institute

A site dedicated to the appreciation of Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness along with the responsibilities these God-given unalienable rights invoke.

Ten Smiths Blog

What does the Declaration of Independence really say?

Short Little Rebel

Because loving Christ is the most rebellious thing you can do

Deaconmatson's Blog

observations from America

